New member hello everyone.

Buzz2537

Aug 16, 2013
NJ
Parrots
Hahn's Macaw
Hi. I am new to the forum, just joined. I am also new to Macaws. I am a new mom to a female Hahns Macaw. I named her Hahnna, deliberately spelled that way, for 'Hahns' Macaw. She is about 12 weeks now and On three hand feedings a day. Previously, I had a U2' Umbrella Cockatoo that I had right out of an egg and hand fed as well. I had my baby eight years, and suffered with severe asthma from the powder. I tried hard to hold on to her, but became unable to handle her due to the severity of the allergies. My husband built her, her own room with a plexi glass door, but Toos need their family and t was not right to selfishly keep her, so it took me two years but with the help of a local bird club we found a nice family for her that had just lost their parrots to a gas leak. I cried for months over her. After speaking to the woman from the vird club that helped me place Boo we decided on a Hahns Macaw as they are oil based, no powder, no allergies. I chose the Hahns after careful research, because they were a big bird in a small body. Very interactive, spoke well and intelligent. I think she was a great choice. She will never replace my Boo, but she has helped to heal my heart. I have already potty trained her to poop in the toilet when she is let out, and she is already saying step up, and knows to step up. We bought her a very large cage with lots of toys, as well as a play gym and we also redid the room we had for Boo, so that when I am working she can stay put of her cage and not be locked up. Anyway, we have her on a no seed diet, pellets , a variety of nuts and dried fruits and veggies and feed her fresh fruits, veggies, beans etc. anyway I am looking forward to being on the forum and also hearing from others that have Hahns babies. Elaine

MikeyTN

Feb 1, 2011
Antioch, TN
Parrots
"Willie"&"Lola"B&G Macaw,
"Dixie"LSC2, and "Nico" Scarlet Macaw.