New to forum and GCC parenthood!

GCC2012

Aug 12, 2013
Melbourne, Australia
Parrots
GCC
Hi Everyone,
I'm in Melbourne and am new to all things parrots! We came home with our baby green cheek conure about 6 months ago and what an experience it's been! His name is Perseus and he is about a year old now.
At first Perseus seemed a bit unsure of his new home, he was very at my husband and actually aggressive towards me as in charging and then biting! We also had our share of feeding problems but have come through and I'm not sure what the aggression was all about but thank god those days are past!
After a few months he was well and truely settled and now is always lovely and snugly.
I'm not sure how to post a pic of my handsome man but will do when I figure it out!
I guess my only question to all you fellow parrot lovers is regarding time out of his cage. As I said I'm new to parrot ownership. We have a dog who is mainly inside too so Perseus is only out of his cage when the dog is not around. As we both work full time mon to fri he would be out for about an hour a day with more on weekends. Is this enough? He seems pretty independent and loves his toys. He doesn't yell or act out indicating he wants out and often after about an hour of being out he indicated he wants to go back home.
His cage is in the lounge where we all hang out so maybe we are there enough that he considers it enough 'flock time'. We go and chat with him and pat him often and he's even trained the dog to come and see him when he calls!
I guess he seems very happy and healthy, I've just read some ppl have their birds out 2-10 hours a day.
I'd love to hear about your parrots especially on this topic of time in and out of the cage.
Ps if I'm posting this in the wrong spot someone please tell me, new to parrots and forums!
Cheers!

lotosha

Jun 29, 2012
Parrots
A pair of cockatiels
And pair of African Greys
Hello welcome and congrats on getting a new feathered friend.

Kalidasa

May 8, 2013
Media