Searching for a Hawkhead

QuitowashisnameO

Mar 20, 2023
Media
Parrots
1. Male catalina macaw, 1.5 yrs old estimated
2. Male blue throat macaw, approx 11 mo
Hello everyone! I'm so glad that this species specific topic is available. I need some assistance because my heart hurts. I'm an Army Veterinary Corp veteran, avid exotic bird enthusiast, living in Texas and not born yesterday.

I just got finished turning down a Wisconsin scammer trying to sell me a 4 y/o Hawkhead male for $1000 with no health guarantee, no ability to see him on video and I believe this breeder used photos from another site to show me his "available bird". Every red flag went up when he swore that his birds are healthy and cost only $150 to ship.

DOES ANYONE know of a reputable breeder? A Facebook page does not a legit breeder make.
I don't want to breed, I just want a healthy one as a pet. I want a health guarantee on a contract, preference towards current blood/fecal test results for disease from avian vet, the ability to see this bird via video chat prior to purchase, current photos, list of their diet and a personality assessment.

Please message me directly if you can provide some light at the end of this tunnel.

Moderator edit:

This member hasn't yet reached the minimum post count to have access to PMs. Any of the moderators can forward messages to/from them until then.

Last edited by a moderator:
OP
QuitowashisnameO

QuitowashisnameO

Mar 20, 2023
Media
Parrots
Thank you!

wrench13

Staff member
Super Moderator
Parrot of the Month 🏆
Nov 22, 2015
Media
Albums
Isle of Long, NY
Parrots
Yellow Shoulder Amazon, Salty