Soooo new job and other stuff

Doublete

Mar 15, 2015
Maryland
Parrots
"Loki" turquoise GCC 1/4/15 hatch date-- "Chiqui" amazon 9/2010 hatch date---- "Banner" green parrotlet hatchdate 11/22/16

RIP "pineapple" lovebird
As I posted a few months ago, I've been trying to figure out what to do with myself for a new career. I've been training race horses for ten years and the industry just isn't what I want it to be. And quite frankly, billing someone for services and products already paid for, and them taking their sweet time to pay that bill is just wearing on me emotionally. I'm currently owed $20k and heard from their lawyer last week that I will be paid but who knows exactly when. Meanwhile I'm STILL feeding their 5 horses. Do you know how much that adds up?!?!?

Anyways. I started a new job!! I am a teAchers assistant at a school for autism. I am normally in the classroom but we had a holiday yesterday and today no school due to weather.
So I am in the residences just watching the kids. I made lunch today- grilled cheese and salad. Being paid to sit around in their house... Can't wait for school tomorrow lol.

I love this job.
The kids in my class are the oldest in the school and they're awesome. 3 are non verbal, one is working on her speech and mobility, and the other two are the cutest sweetest kids. We took the 3 higher functioning to volunteer for meals on wheels Friday and it was so much fun. One of the boys is a gentle giant. He saw a cat on the porch and started asking the lady about her cats. Then she said she had 9 cats. He said "so you're the cat lady?!?!"

I honestly couldn't stop laughing. These kids are so special. I'm in the residence of the girl in my class.
This job is full time, benefits, with education reimbursement so I can finish my degree!

On a sad note.. A friend I went to college with (he is an engineer) and dated about 5 years ago had a birthday on wed.
I reached out to him... He immediately started up a conversation.