Thinking about getting a new baby, need some advice.

Shamrokin

Nov 8, 2013
La Mirada, CA
Parrots
DYH Amazon named Ollie
Hi,
I'm a newbie here on this forum. I am looking into getting a new addition to my family. I don't have any birds in my home, unless you count 3 chickens, but they are outside. :) The other members of my family are one small dog, 2 cats, 2 teenagers and my boyfriend who comes over a lot but doesn't live with me. I used to own an Umbrella Cockatoo about 15 years ago. I unfortunately had to rehome him because my ex-husband hated him and my son was a toddler at the time cried hysterically every time the 'too would scream. Thankfully my son is now almost 18 and I no longer have an animal hating man in my life. :D

Anyways, I've always missed having a bird and I now feel ready to try it again. I am not sure which bird is best for me. I like the larger birds. I work from home as a graphic designer. I play music while I work or have the TV on, so I don't need quiet while I work, so I don't see that as a problem. I am not necessarily looking for a cuddly bird since I don't think I will be cuddling much with them anyways. I am the type that likes to interact with the bird by holding them, talking to them and laughing at their antics. I don't want an extremely noisy bird, but I do understand that ALL birds are noisy at times.