Working with a aggressive-history macaw. Help!

sarah12

Oct 3, 2012
Hello everyone, I hope it is okay I have posted this message to a couple of forums to get as many replies as possible, as I am quite nervous.
I am new to working with macaws (I have been around the individual birds for a long while, but not done much with them) but I have just began a job where I am going to care for, train, and eventually work blue and gold macaws in a show.

One of these macaws has an aggressive history. He has been known to lunge at bars, open his wings and tell you "screw off", and has bitten several people - often when asked to step up onto the hand, or during interactions. There are some particular enclosures he moves between, and certain ones cause him to do this more than others. He has also been known to bond well with individuals, and become aggressive to everyone else.

I don't mind the wing-open - I like a good warning! When he does this, I just calmly walk away. However the lunging concerns me. Yesterday, I interacted with him for the first time in a while. He was doing what I describe as "acting coy"; where he seems to flirt with you. He will lower his head, sway slightly, move around, looking at you, sidle over, and almost seem to wiggle a little in excitement. I completely thought these were good, happy signs, and was comfortable.
I fed him a seed through the bar; he took it calmly. A few seconds later I tried to give him a second - and he lunged at me. This really concerned me, because although we obviously don't want bribery, I have always been told "once he sees you have food, he will be fine".
Later on in the day I wanted to build my confidence by giving him something bigger, and as it was later on in the day, I was hoping his mood would have improved. I passed him some leaves on a branch through the bars (they have previously enjoyed looking/lightly nibbling these) and he received it happily. I went to do the same with a second one, and he lunged.