Bird Freaking Out!

Caitnah

Mar 24, 2018
Upstate New York
Parrots
GCC Pineapple
Although I have had a Cockatoo in the past, this is my first time with a Conure. He is 9 weeks old and as sweet as can be. Hand holding, Step Up, Petting, Laying on his back in my hand; everything he does is as tame as can be.

When I got him last week I had to place him in a small temporary cage as my large cage was still in transit.
Yesterday, the new cage came and after putting it together and placing toys, water/food, I placed Buddy inside. He immediately took to the cage. He played within the first five minutes, ate and drank more than I ever saw. He then played some more.
I cleaned up and ran the vacuum cleaner. Nothing seems to bother this bird as he kept playing/eating while I ran the vacuum (first time using vacuum around him).

After about an hour, I went to take him out of his cage and he started freaking out at my hand. He eventually stepped up but every time my hand got near him he went to bite and scream. After talking to him a bit, he sat on my chest in the chair. I petted him but every time he saw my finger he panicked.

It was like a totally different bird from before. Any ideas? Vacuum cleaner?
I realize that birds can be moody, but this was a huge transition in such a short time for a 9 week old. He was acting as if he had been abused.

Now this morning he appears to being back to his "old" self. No biting or freaking when I took him out of his cage.

Last edited:

clark_conure

Jul 14, 2017
Media
Minnesota
Parrots
A crossover Quaker Scuti (F), A Sun conure named AC, A Cinnamon Green Cheek conure Kent, and 6 budgies, Scuti Jr. (f), yellow (m), clark Jr. (m), Dot (f), Zebra(f), Machine (m).
Clark has had experiences like this in the past...

Sometimes the plain and simple fact is, birds although brilliant can also just act insane at times, especially conures with their inbred attention seeking behavior.