Confused Newbie!

Weightedwombat

Aug 2, 2015
Parrots
Pineapple Strawberry GCC
Hey everyone! I'm a newbie to the forums here and hope to become a valuable member to such a nice friendly community! That being said, I need to tap into the vast knowledge base of the many people here as I'm having a bit of a frustrating issue.

My wife and I have had several cockatiels in the past and decided to take the Conure plunge about a month ago. We got ourselves a friendly 3 month old Pineapple Strawberry Conure. We were so excited to have him (assuming its male) in our home, the first couple weeks were amazing! He learned step up extremely quickly and was just such a cuddler. As of the past week he's become, seemingly out of nowhere, bitey, destructive and just an all around brat!

I'm not sure if this is normal Conure "growing" issues or what but his personality has done a 180 and we can't even have him out without him attempting to destroy our hands. We've tried everything from the firm no no and putting him back on his cage to ignoring the biting all together and nothing is curbing it. His bites aren't enough to draw blood but they're definitely not pleasant. I'm not sure how to proceed and both my wife and I are completely perplexed. He's started also rolling on his back and kicking his feet (looks almost like a toddler temper tantrum lol) but if he is touched he will bite and bite hard. If anyone has any thoughts on perhaps what I'm doing wrong that'd be extremely helpful! :confused:

Attachments

• IMG_20150711_114208.jpg
    IMG_20150711_114208.jpg
    82.9 KB · Views: 278
Green cheek conure are very nippy by nature. All you can do is pick a method and be consistent and patient. My breeder told me to blow air in his face and say "be nice" so that's what I did consistently and it has helped. I do still get bit though, they are very smart and opinionated. They are not shy in telling you what they want or don't like. Good luck.