Early fledging?

harleyquinn

Aug 4, 2021
Hi everyone!

So last week I brought home a baby Eclectus for hand raising. I'm not new at this, i've raised 5 so far and they've all been fairly textbook. I am not a breeder, but I am in close contact with a breeder who I have been helping for a few years now. If he has particularly large clutches of anything he gives some to me to raise. I don't charge him for it, and he pays for the formula. Due to his health he is raising his last couple of clutches before he calls it quits. As a thank you for helping him throughout the past few years he offered me one of his Eclectus babies, and I graciously accepted.

Anyway, my wee baby (who doesn't even have a name yet) was great for the first few days. Fed well, loves spending time with me and the family, curious, alert and vocal. He's a slow feeder but that's okay, comes with the territory. His hatch date is 13/6/21, making him 7 weeks 5 days today. He was 6 weeks 4 days the day I brought him home.

However the past few days he's been particularly difficult. Refusing formula, spitting out what I do get into him, obsessed with climbing and sitting on me. I tried having my husband feed him but he still wouldn't take it. Eventually I tried laying a towel over me and letting him sit on me while he ate, which worked for a day, then he started refusing again.

He's been more interested in foraging so I lined the tray of his bird stand with butchers paper, scattered some soft foods and let him have at it. He's become a pro and climbing from his perch down to the tray and back up again. He also effortlessly hops from the tray over to the back of the couch where I sit.

He didn't appear unwell, he was alert, curious and active, poops look great and no smelly breath (I know what a yeasty crop smells like, gross) but I was getting really worried about him refusing to eat so i've scheduled a vet appointment but due to covid i'm unable to get in until tomorrow afternoon.