Few questions for Eclectus owners - newbie doing research

shinyuankuo

May 9, 2019
State College, PA
Parrots
Winston å±ę’š, the Eclectus. å±ę’š (pi-nian) came from Pinion (Psalms 64, meaning flight feather, typifying God's soaring power.)
Hi all,

I am a newbie doing research. I don't have an Eclectus yet, but am looking forward to one in the future. Most of my questions don't have a right/wrong answer. I just want to know how experienced owners think of these things. I thank you in advance for sharing your thoughts with me.

1. How often does your Eclectus parrot get hormonal? How do you cope with it?

2. Do you think adding some TOP pellets as a small part of diet is acceptable? I'm talking about sprinking a few pellets into fresh meal. The goal here is if something extreme happens (like post natural disasters when fresh food is not accessible), the bird has a plan B to fall back on to get through the days.

Here is a sample list of ingredient for your consideration.
Ingredients:
Organic alfalfa, organic hulled millet, organic barley, organic rice, organic sunflower seed hulled, organic sesame seeds unhulled, organic quinoa whole, organic pumpkin, organic buckwheat hulled, organic dandelion leaf powder, organic carrot powder, organic spinach leaf powder, organic purple dulse, kelp, organic rose hips powder, organic rose hips crushed, organic orange peel powder, organic lemon peel powder, organic rosemary whole leaf, organic cayenne ground, organic crushed red chili peppers, organic nettle leaf, cinnamon.
Guaranteed Analysis:
Crude Protein min 13.6%, Crude Fiber max 8%, Crude Oils and Fats min 5%, Moisture max 10.3%.

3. How much do you spend on vet visits on average? I just want to get an idea.

4. Is your precious bird a one person bird?