Hello hello!

Warrior-Song

Sep 22, 2021
Hi everyone! I've been lurking around for a bit now and figured I may as well say hello.

I'm completely new to birds but I'm hoping I can get a feathered friend of my own in the future. I'm here to try and learn as much as I can before trying to bring one home. Mostly I've been doing research for conures and cockatiels, and while I'm leaning toward getting a cockatiel I haven't fully decided yet.

This place has already been very helpful and I'm excited to hopefully have some bird stories to tell in the future!

LaManuka

Staff member
Super Moderator
Aug 29, 2018
Media
Albums
Queensland, Australia
Parrots
Fang ({ab}normal grey cockatiel), Valentino (budgie), Jem (cinnamon cockatiel), Lovejoy(varied lorikeet), Peach (princess parrot)
Hi Warrior-Song! I'm glad you've chosen to step out of the shadows and become an official member :)

Both conures and cockatiels are delightful little birds and make wonderful companions. Others may disagree with me but if I had to choose one or the other for a first-timer I'd probably gravitate more towards the cockatiel though. All parrots are individuals of course but I think 'tiels in general are just that little bit easier to manage. But if you've been lurking here for any length of time you've probably read a lot about how important it is to let the bird choose you wherever possible. Not that allegiances never change to other household members over time, but if birdie is already interested in you from the start, it just makes bonding and building the relationship that much easier.

Whatever you decide, you will find many folks here only too happy to share their experiences with you. I'm looking forward to seeing pics of your new baby when he or she arrives and sharing in the excitement of your new journey with you :D

And my cockatiel Fang says "hi" too :)

wrench13

Staff member
Super Moderator
Parrot of the Month 🏆
Nov 22, 2015
Media
Albums
Isle of Long, NY
Parrots