Helping Spring Birds: Houses, Foods and Baths for Small, Shy Species

findi

Jan 28, 2012
Hi All,
Hi, Frank Indiviglio here. I’m a zoologist and book author, recently retired from a career spent at several zoos, aquariums, and museums, including over 20 years with the Bronx Zoo.
With winter finally vanquished here in the USA (or, most of the USA, anyway!), our long-awaited migratory birds have returned and are busy fattening up and building nests. Many standard bird feeders, foods and other supplies work well year round, but spring also brings some changes that provide new opportunities for us to assist our avian friends. As competition for food (especially insects), water and nest sites increases, small, retiring birds may be forced away from backyard bird feeders, baths and houses. This is especially true in areas where Starlings, English Sparrows and other aggressive species are common. Warblers, Vireos, Wrens and similar native birds are at a disadvantage, and many are in decline. Bats are also in trouble, with many suffering from an emerging disease, habitat loss and insecticide use…a bat house can be a real boon to local populations. Following are a few interesting items that can be used to lend a hand. [FONT=&quot]R[/FONT]ead article here Helping Spring Birds: Houses, Foods & Baths for Small, Shy SpeciesThat Bird Blog
Please also check out my posts on Twitter Crows as Pets: The African Pied Crow, a Most Intelligent BirdThat Bird Blog and Face Book http://on.fb.me/KckP1m

My Bio, with photos of animals I’ve been lucky enough to work with That Pet Place welcomes Zoologist/Herpetologist Frank Indiviglio to That Reptile Blog | That Reptile BlogThat Reptile Blog

Thanks, Frank

MikeyTN

Feb 1, 2011
Antioch, TN
Parrots
"Willie"&"Lola"B&G Macaw,
"Dixie"LSC2, and "Nico" Scarlet Macaw.
I bought some new bird house this year to help out! I use the left over seeds for the wild birds instead of wasting. :)

TessieB

Nov 3, 2013
Media
Upstate, South Carolina
Parrots