I got a breeding pair of lovebirds as gifts and need help

TheLuckyDog

May 5, 2019
I am new here and this is my first time posting (joined because I thought it would be helpful to caring for the birds). A family member of mine received two masked lovebirds (if I am correct because the internet seems to give me weak answers) as a gift and I have co-ownership over the breeding pair. We've had them for approximately 4-5 months now. The only experience I have with birds is two Amazon Green Parrots we had before.

Currently, I still struggle with taming them, the male comes but the female doesn't and attacks the male for doing so. I got them to eat in my hand on a few rare occasions and once the male got away by accident (he had no intention on leaving he just sort of fell out) and he allowed me to come really close, he just didn't permit me to touch him. When I caught him he was still quite calm. So I would like to know how I can tame them.

I also would like to add that they have started mating with each other and building nests (the female gets really anxious if I don't provide twigs but she doesn't take interest in the tissue which I heard a lot of people use) so I would sincerely like to help them with their nesting (I stopped trying to tame them out of fear I was bothering her) and would like to know what to do to help the pair. The cage is big enough for a parrot but I believe the nesting box is too small so if someone can tell me a good size (I am terrible at measuring and don't want to disturb her so I can't share the size)

Last edited:

CharlieChick

Dec 7, 2020
I am not a breeding expert, there are many people here who are more knowledgeable than me in this matter.

If you ask me, I'd say you would be a pretty decent and educated bird person after having 2 amazon green parrots... but again amazons and lovebirds are two very different species.