I think I goofed up

Bird Mama

Mar 18, 2022
Parrots
1 parakeet male under 2 and 1 cockatiel male 7 mos.
I am new to the bird world. About 2 months ago I purchased my first cockatiel and a couple of weeks ago I purchased a parakeet. I was doing great with my cockatiel until last night. The parakeet has been very friendly, a little shy and a little scared, but otherwise good. I brought both birds in to get their wings clipped a few days ago and I was telling the clipper that I hadn't held the parakeet yet. That day I actually touched him after he got clipped...I was soooo excited!! Got them both home and everything was fine. They were a little quiet, but ok.
Yesterday I got up the courage to get the parakeet in my hand and did the walking thing through my hands, put him down, then did again a few times. I did get nipped at first, but it seemed like it was ok with the parakeet...I did treat him after each time.
Last night I went to put both birds to bed and NEITHER one of them wanted to let me put them in their cages. It was a struggle...even with millet. It's never a struggle.
I think I goofed everything up by grabbing the parakeet before he was fully ready and it affected the cockatiel as well. This morning, they both seemed ok, but my cockatiel, who I have a routine with in the morning, wasn't having it. It took extra long to get him to come out of his cage and the parakeet hasn't come out all day.
Did I really goof this up so much that I may have to start all over again?

Cottonoid

Supporting Member
Parrot of the Month 🏆
Feb 20, 2022
I'm also new to birds, but one thing I've learned in my past life working with other wild/feral animals is that no relationship is ruined if you can still understand what they are communicating to you.