onamom

Staff member
Super Moderator
Parrot of the Month 🏆
May 9, 2022
Indiana, USA
Parrots
Ona: Dilute Green Cheek Conure
Hi guys! This is the start of a thread where I will write up some tutorials for tricks I've taught Ona.

Disclaimer: I am not a professional bird trainer and these tutorials were written based on research and what worked for me. I am also not a perfect bird trainer and am always learning and improving my training technique myself. Bird training is a skill you have to learn! Always listen to your bird's body language and do what works for you. Please remember to always be patient with your bird when training. Tricks are not learned overnight and making mistakes is how your bird will learn. Ona does not do every trick perfectly every time either, and this should never be your expectation. Have fun with it, be patient, and take things slow. Remember, BEFORE you start training you need to find a good training treat your bird loves! Only give this treat during training sessions. Keep training sessions short, no more than 20 mins at a time!

I will post a table of contents linked to posts where I will write about each trick! The grayed out items are posts I have not written yet but tricks I could write about in the future. Please let me know if anyone has any requests from the list :) I'll add more to the list when Ona learns new tricks I can share!​

Beginner Tricks - start here:

Target Training

Recall & Stationing

Spin

Intermediate and Advanced Tricks:

Fetch

Basketball

Ring Toss

Wave

Colors

Last edited:
OP
onamom

onamom

Staff member
Super Moderator
Parrot of the Month 🏆
May 9, 2022
Indiana, USA
Parrots
⚾ Fetch or "Ball" 🏀

Lovely Ona's demonstration of this trick:

I highly recommend teaching this trick because it can be used as a building block to teach many other things! It will help your bird understand the concept of you pointing at objects for them to focus on. This trick is a prerequisite to basketball.