Need some advice on heating my chicks and safety please . . . .

Kakarikilover2021

Jan 31, 2021
Hi ye I am currently breeding kakarikis this is my first time and it's in my home in a large cage . The cage is in a relatively cold room . There's currently 6 eggs with hatch date not to far away please god . We are currently experiencing very cold weather and I want to make them as comfortable as possible so I am going to use 100w infrared lamp pointing down into cage at night time when I go to bed I will leave it on but I am concerned about fires and how safe it is ? It's approx 40cm from nest box and is sitting on top of cage(can't fall down) will it set anything on fire ? Thank you so much for your advice guys I will try attach a picture . Ps the bulb will be on approx 10 hours at night time only in kitchen .

Attachments

• 20210210_154004.jpg
    20210210_154004.jpg
    100.9 KB · Views: 98
Last edited:

noodles123

Jul 11, 2018
Parrots
Umbrella Cockatoo- 15? years old..I think?
More dangerous than fires= the PTFE/PFOA/PFCs/Teflon that commonly coat the interior heating coils in many standard space heaters EDIT- when you said you were worried about fires, I thought you meant from a space heater, which is why I added what I did about PTFE/PFOA/PFCS/Teflon. For comfort, I'd go with an oil radiator if I were you. The don't blow air like a heater (which is better)and most are considered bird-safe (the same which cannot be said of space heaters -unless you call the company and give them the full chemical name as well as the abbreviations...but that means listening to the customer support person claiming that their "product is safe for people and animals" without having any idea about birds....only to transfer you before finally explaining that they will make an inquiry but will get back to you within 3-5 days (if you even get that far)