New member! Newish bird owner!

BirDymama

Sep 1, 2023
Parrots
One Alexandrine Parakeet
Hi all, new member here! Bit of background... I'm quite new to owning birds. I recently adopted an Alexandrine male. Unsure of his age, as he was a rescue but they think he is around 5 years old.

I'm looking for recommendations for feed. He doesn't like fruit and veggies, so I'm worried he isn't getting the right nutrients. Where I got him from, they had him on a seed mix and from my research that isn't all too great for him!

Thanks in advance everyone! 😊

clark_conure

Jul 14, 2017
Media
Minnesota
Parrots
A crossover Quaker Scuti (F), A Sun conure named AC, A Cinnamon Green Cheek conure Kent, and 6 budgies, Scuti Jr. (f), yellow (m), clark Jr. (m), Dot (f), Zebra(f), Machine (m).
Honestly I don't know, I've never had one.....but if you have a picture I'd love to gaze upon your new bird.....

wrench13

Staff member
Super Moderator
Parrot of the Month 🏆
Nov 22, 2015
Media
Albums
Isle of Long, NY
Parrots
Yellow Shoulder Amazon, Salty
Just make any changes to diet a gradual one, over the period of many weeks and even months. Parrots will starve themselves if abruptly changed to a diet they dont like or are unfamiliar with. This is critical ! Pellets can also be introduced and there are a lot of choices for that, some great brands and some not so much, but the best pellet is one that your bird will actually eat. You can get the best one but if he refuses to eat it, it does you no good.

ravvlet

Jun 25, 2019
Seattle WA
Parrots
Kirby - OWA, 33yrs old (2019-)
Broccoli - Dusky Conure - 3?mo old (July 2023 -)
~~~
(Rehomed) Sammy - YNA, 45 yrs old (2022-2023)
(RIP) Cricket - Cockatiel (2019-2022)