Parrot stop/reduce vocalising

Aggeloslos

Apr 15, 2023
Parrots
Parotlet, Indian Ringneck
Goodmorning everyone,

I have an IndianRingneck 9 months old. Before a week we moved for 3 days on countryside for Easter celebration. The bird was scared and stressed as it is his first move outside of the house. He are less and generally was a bit stressed. After we get back home (4 days) he returned to his routine, he eats perfectly maybe more, everything seems the same except for his vocals. When I leave home I have a tablet with birds and usually he screams and make noises. Only today he made some only for 2 minutes.

Do you think it is from stress and he needs time to settle back?
I am not experienced but he is not fluffed and his breath seems normal. Maybe he overpreens a little.

I appreciate you replies.

Have a nice day.

Attachments

• IMG_3234.jpeg
    IMG_3234.jpeg
    274 KB · Views: 25

ravvlet

Jun 25, 2019
Seattle WA
Parrots
Kirby - OWA, 33yrs old (2019-)
Broccoli - Dusky Conure - 3?mo old (July 2023 -)
~~~
(Rehomed) Sammy - YNA, 45 yrs old (2022-2023)
(RIP) Cricket - Cockatiel (2019-2022)
Four days isn’t a very long time! Keep an eye on him but as long as he is eating normally and behavior is otherwise normal I think he will find his way back to his usual routine with you.

You can start working with him also so that his next trip away (assuming he came with you) isn’t so stressful - short trips outside or parrot safe places in a backpack carrier work well. I like to take mine with me to cafes with outdoor seating when the weather is warm enough.

OP
A

Aggeloslos

Apr 15, 2023
Parrots
Parotlet, Indian Ringneck
Four days isn’t a very long time! Keep an eye on him but as long as he is eating normally and behavior is otherwise normal I think he will find his way back to his usual routine with you.