Plum head taming process.

petrusi

Oct 10, 2021
Parrots
Plum heads
Heyo!
So I got a new plum head after keeping budgies for 14 years. They weren't really tame, I was young and inexperienced with them but they sure lived their lives to the fullest! Well, I am planing to make my plum head tame. Since I am still new to the process I came here to ask for guidence. I watched a ton of videos but that doesn't come close to getting personal advice from experienced people here. So here is what I've been doing. He is 6 month old he's been at my home specifically in my room where I spend most of my time when I am home. When I leave I always play him some music. I've left him in his cage for about 2 weeks maybe more without trying to do anything with him. Letting him get acustomed to his new enviroment. After that he started singing and playing around banging his toys around the cage ripping them to shreds he had suddenly tons of energy and was shy to wreak havoc while I am in the room. So I took that as key to start taming him in hope of him becoming a really social parrot. First I started sitting around his cage 20-30 minutes a day once he didn't mind that slowly started getting him used to my hand in the cage near him. Took his favourite seed out of the mix for his diet (sunflower) and started only giving it to him when I am trying to get him to eat off my hand. As I've read in bird language food=trust. He was slowly starting to get used to my hand getting closer and closer ocassionaly he would take fast air nibbs in the direction where the seeds were but still couldn't get to take them from my hand. So I have done that for a couple of days still only air nibbs. Started slowly moving my pinky infront of him. Then finally he took some actual nibbs but they were directed at my finger haha. So figured he is hand afraid but long objects far from the main hand are fine. So today I took a long thin sliced piece of carrot. And started feeding it to him. He was reluctant at first b