Red eyes

Hanzo1

Nov 21, 2022
Parrots
Hanzo ~9 Months
Hey everyone! This is my first time posting here.
I have a Cockatiel (Hanzo) for about 2 months and he was alone for this time and I planned on getting him a companion as soon as he was trained enough to listen to me and the command I gave him. He is a young healthy bird and I got him from a breeder from around my area.

Today I got him a companion from the same breeder because Hanzo still is healthy and never had problems so I trusted him. I chose a bird there and he put him in my transport box so I couldn't really take a closer look and drove home. Now I put him in his cage while Hanzo is outside and I discover that his eyes around his pupils are deeply red almost black and he squints his eyes. While he was eating from the bowl he was squining really hard and almost fell asleep but as soon as Hanzo calls to him he is all energized again. I've attached a picture, can someone tell me what this might be?
I don't want to put Hanzos health into risk by putting him in the same cage and possibly intecting him with some unkown disease :( Please can someone give me some more information?

Attachments

• 20221121_175644.jpg
    20221121_175644.jpg
    121.4 KB · Views: 43
  • 20221121_175702.jpg
    20221121_175702.jpg
    138.3 KB · Views: 41

Cottonoid

Supporting Member
Parrot of the Month 🏆
Feb 20, 2022
Welcome to the forums!

I think your instincts are right to be worried. Do you have a vet yet?

Is there any way you can keep your new parrot in a separate room for now? The big thing I would want to know is whether your new parrot has a respiratory infection, because that could be passed easily to Honzo.

I definitely wouldn't put them in the same cage.

If you're able to keep the new bird in a separate room, make sure you always clean and feed Honzo first before going into the new bird's room. Then wash your hands really well (I change my clothes too).