Two Big Questions in One

AS91379

Aug 15, 2011
North Georgia
Parrots
Green Cheeked Conure
I am planning on getting another bird in the very near future. I am a college student who spends two days a week at school ALL DAY, and I want my bird to have companionship during those two days. I plan on the two birds having separate cages but being allowed to interact under supervision. My bird is a one-year-old GCC. I am considering another conure, but I have always loved-- and even had as a child-- a cockatiel. Does anyone know if a GCC and a cockatiel would get along? Or am I better off just getting another conure?

My second question is this: my GCC has had a biting problem since I got her. The pet store I got her from said she was the moodiest conure they ever had. Every time she bites, I do the involuntary pull away/flinch/brace/suck in air, etc. The whole "don't react because it's the reaction they are looking for" thing does not work. I can't help giving a little flinch every time. I am considering wearing gloves to break her, so she can't get the satisfaction of a reaction when she bites. Has anyone tried this?

Thanks for those of you who can stand to read through my rambles!

Alot of birds can't stand gloves, and that might make it worse if she become fearful of you altogether. You could try hanging the very light gardening gloves next to her cage for awhile, then letting her interact with them in training, then finally on your hands. I wouldn't just suddenly start using gloves.