Uglow woke up with a runny nose

Uglow

Jan 19, 2016
Chicago
Parrots
Hi guys,
Uglow woke up with a runny nose today.
runnynose_zpstsg8dyys.jpg

Sneezed a few times while we weighed him.
Called vet,closed. Called the emergency vet and after discussing his behavior and appearance he decided it was safe for Uglow to be monitored at home today. I'll take him in to his regular vet tomorrow morning.
So his weight is the same, he's eating like a champ, he isn't fluffed up, he's chatty, his molted feathers are growing in and he's active. All good signs.

he hasn't been around any other birds since we brought him home and the temp has been a solid 75-80 in the house. Can't imagine it's a cold but I have no experience with this.

If you guys have any suggestions until his vet visit tomorrow please share away.
Thanks
-Ninos

My first reaction is normally "don't stress". Everyone has a little runny nose now and then. I've seen it with Parker but it goes away in a matter of a few hours. Bodily functions happen.

Keep us updated :)

Thanks Chris.
So far so good. Still a bit moist there but not as much as this morning. The vet also asked how his breathing was. It doesn't seem forced or anything. Wonder if it's a new pollen floating around.

Hope Uglow gets better soon and that it is just a passing aggravation of some kind. Hopefully all will go well with your vet visit but its a good sign when he is improving and thst there is no laboured breathing with it.Get Well soon Uglow :)

Vets have told me that certain contagions can pass from humans to birds and back... avian TB, for example.

Buttttt... when he was young (2 years or less) the Rickeybird would get a runny nose now and then, for a few hours...

By the way, that picture is wonderful!!!

Thanks guys. Well his runny nose has cleared up and he's devastated his newest toy. Cautiously, he seems to be ok. I'm still calling the vet tomorrow to see what he says.