What a ride!

overtherainbow

Aug 8, 2023
Parrots
2 rescued Amazons
Hello! We were given a bonded Amazon pair (I think they are yellow napes) about 2 years ago. They are NOT friendly, but they will take food from my fingers. From what I was told, they've been mistreated and neglected. I don't know how old they are. Honestly, I've had no experience with Amazons, but I knew I could at least give them a forever home and a better life than they've had. We didn't know they were male and female, but we soon found out. They had a baby this spring! We was born approximately April 1. He came out of the nesting box June 5. I've kept him with his parents, but have been handling him as much as I can.
The issues I'm having are, he is eating food, but still eating from Mama. Im assuming I need to separate him if I'm going to get him to bond with me. Correct?I f so, when do I know the right time?
Also, the male is kind of mean to the female at times. He will "peck" at her and the baby forcefully sometimes. They have a cage, but it's open and they get free range of a whole bedroom for them. That's been the case even before the baby came. I've tried to read and watch videos on the behavior, but there is mainly info on tamed Amazons and not pairs.
Any advice is greatly appreciated! I'm happy to be here.

texsize

Supporting Member
Parrot of the Month 🏆
Oct 23, 2015
Media
so-cal
Parrots
1 YNA (Bingo)
1 OWA (Plumas R.I.P.)
1 RLA (Pacho R.I.P.)
2 GCA(Luna,Merlin) The Twins
1 Congo AG (Bella)
5 Cockatiels
welcome to the forum.
Would love to see pictures of all those amazon cuteness.

Never raised Amazons (not yet) but did raise 2 clutches of Cockatiels.

I am a little unclear about the age of your baby.
It sounds like he (going to go with HE in this case with gender unknown) is in the process of weaning.

My understanding of raising baby parrots is with cockatiels .
You want to start handling them when their eyes open.
about 10 days after hatching.