What kind of Amazon

lovecoco

Jul 14, 2015
Hi,

I'm back. Thanks to everyone who answered my questions yesterday, this is a great forum. Roxie seemed even nicer today and of course I was happy about it. I do understand that everyday can be different but I think overall we've made progress. I was wondering if anyone can tell me what kind of Amazon she is. From pictures I've seen online, I think she's a Red Crown Amazon, but I'm no expert and would love some feedback.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    94 KB · Views: 284

RavensGryf

Supporting Member
Jan 19, 2014
College Station, Texas
Parrots
Red Bellied Parrot /
Ruppell's Parrot /
Bronze Winged Pionus /
English Budgie
Red Crowned, Green Cheeked, Mexican Red Headed... different common names for the same bird. Roxie is beautiful!

Kiwibird

Jul 12, 2012
Parrots
1 BFA- Kiwi. Hatch circa 98', forever home with us Dec. 08'
Julie (RavensGryf) is right, there are multiple, accurate names used for that species. Take your pick:D

My mom has always referred to her boy as a green cheek amazon. Roxie is a beautiful girl, and GCAs are such sweet birds! Much different than the 'hot 3' amazons. You're going to love sharing your home with her!

Allee

Oct 27, 2013
Media
Texas
Parrots
U2-Poppy(Poppy lives with her new mommy, Misty now) CAG-Jack, YNA, Bingo, Budgie-Piper, Cockatiel-Sweet Pea Quakers-Harry, Sammy, Wilson ***Zeke (quaker) Twinkle (budgie) forever in our hearts
Roxie is a real beauty! Congratulations!

Birdman666

Sep 18, 2013
San Antonio, TX
Parrots
Presently have six Greenwing Macaw (17 yo), Red Fronted Macaw (12 yo), Red Lored Amazon (17 y.o.), Lilac Crowned Amazon (about 43 y.o.) and a Congo African Grey (11 y.o.)
Panama Amazon (1 Y.O.)
Yeah. That's what we always called them Mexican Red Heads, but Julie's 100% right.

They're very similar in personality to Lilac Crowns, and Red Loreds, though perhaps a tad more vocal. They tend to be one of the calmer amazon species.