A little late to the party...

NeverBroken

Aug 22, 2013
NY
Parrots
Lola the U2
Hi there :) I've actually been posting for about a week but I never made an official introduction, so, sorry about that! But better late then never, so here goes-

I live in beautiful upstate NY with hubby, 2 dogs, 7 cats, and our newest family member, Lola the Umbrella Cockatoo. She is 5 years old and we adopted her from a family who didn't have time for her anymore. We've only had her 4 days(!) but so far she has been just a darling. In fact, I'm actually quite shocked that she has adjusted so well! Don't get me wrong, she is a Too after all, and does have her bratty moments lol. But she is friendly as can be and from all signs is completely content with us, although she isn't 100% on her other furred siblings yet, but that will come in time.

I have had some experience in the past with others who owned cockatoo's, but this is my first one to personally 'own' and care for. And boy, is there a LOT to learn! I want to do everything right to keep a happy, healthy, and well adjusted Too- so I've been reading like crazy and I'll definitely be posting with questions. I work from home doing web and graphic design, so I have plenty of time to devote to her, and luckily we are in a rural area and the noise of a Too isn't a problem.

Thanks for all the help so far, and the help that is sure to come in the future- this is a great forum and I'm happy to be here :)

Last edited:

MikeyTN

Feb 1, 2011
Antioch, TN
Parrots
"Willie"&"Lola"B&G Macaw,
"Dixie"LSC2, and "Nico" Scarlet Macaw.
Love the name Lola! My B&G girl is named Lola as well... :D

I hope Lola stays as sweet as she is now cause your still in the honeymoon period....Just be watchful of her!

OP
NeverBroken

NeverBroken

Aug 22, 2013
NY
Parrots
Lola the U2