Advice needed on winter heating a new aviary

Anxies

Jul 16, 2019
I have cockatiels and i am totally new to outdoor aviaries and am worried about winter their is barely any info online. This is the aviary i have brought my husband is convinced that with a bit of polystyrene and extra boarding it will warm the inside enough. I think we need some electric heating in the form of lamps maybe but obviously would need it to be safe and cost effective. If anyone could point me in the right direction that would be great. Also what does everyone use to stop drafts fron mesh? Any advice for total novice would be amazing.
Anne

Attachments

• 122977928_3086670874771798_5090884711173638471_n.jpg
    122977928_3086670874771798_5090884711173638471_n.jpg
    110.2 KB · Views: 78

BirdyBee

Jan 7, 2022
Media
Albums
South Africa
Parrots
Current birds:
John
Snowy
Pippen

Past birds:
Grumpy
Sunny
Griffen
Jeff
Gertjie
I have cockatiels and i am totally new to outdoor aviaries and am worried about winter their is barely any info online. This is the aviary i have brought my husband is convinced that with a bit of polystyrene and extra boarding it will warm the inside enough.
Does it snow in your area? Is there very heavy rain/storms?
I think we need some electric heating in the form of lamps maybe but obviously would need it to be safe and cost effective. If anyone could point me in the right direction that would be great.
I can't help you with this as I don't have much knowledge on heat lamps . Hopefully someone else sees this.
Also what does everyone use to stop drafts fron mesh?
You can try using a sheet of some sort to block it.

Terry57

Staff member
Super Moderator
Nov 6, 2013
Media
Albums
Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada
Parrots
Hawkhead(Darwin),YCA(Dexter),VE (Ekko),OWA(Slater),BHP(Talli),DYH(Calypso),RLA(Kimera),Alex(Xander)CBC(Phoe),IRN (Kodee,Luna,Stevie),WCP (Pisces),CAG(Justice)GCC (Jax), GSC2(Charley)