Another newbie

ConureLove

Sep 6, 2011
Australia
Parrots
Winkee:1 year old Green Cheek Conure male & currently nameless: 10 week old Pineapple Green Cheek Conure hen.
Hi Everyone,

Another Aussie joining the forums here :)
I am relatively new to owning parrots, however my Auntie (who passed away a few years ago) used to do wildlife rescue, mainly for parrots. I remember the numerous African Grey's, Lorikeets, Cockatoo's, Conures & many others that she helped and fostered. She even took on and hand raised babies. I have always wanted a Conure after falling in the love with her Sun & the baby Sun's she raised, however the time had never been right for me.

A month or more ago friends of mine wanted to re-home their 1 year old Green Cheek Conure male and I jumped at the chance. They loved him dearly and didn't want to part with him, however have their first child on the way and I think his noise levels were of concern ;)

His name is Winkee and he is a lovely little guy. It has taken him some time to settle into his new home and surroundings, especially considering he has come into a home with children. However we have gained his trust and he is becoming more trusting by the day. We have had a couple of set backs, however I am determined to stick at things and do the hard yards to reap the rewards of this loving little guy. He talks quiet a bit and has picked up a few new words/phrases since moving in with us.

I am still very much a novice, but I am willing to learn and educate myself to give this guy the best chance at a long and healthy life with us. I have been reading a lot and harassing friends for info too.

We have also just purchased a baby Pineapple Conure hen and pick her up this Saturday. She has been parent reared, but I plan on getting her nice and tame too. I have her cage all set up, just need to fill her food and water bowls, line her tray with newspaper and put a couple of perches up. Oh and don't worry I am aware of the quarantine rules :)