Beginner need a lot of advice and help!!!

Goose

May 29, 2015
New York
Ok so I want to get a parrot and I'm not sure what kind fits me best. I am a full time college student and am working as well. I live with my mother in the upstairs of I high ranch more family living downstairs. I have a minimum of an hour a day to hang out with my bird. I do have allergies but I do not know if I'm allergic to bird dust so as little dust would be best. I do not mind some mess I have kept many reptiles before actually breeding snakes and lizards so I'm no stranger to having pets. I just want something more interactive.I don't mind to much noise neither does my family just would like to keep screaming to minimum. My issue is I do have dogs in my house so I would like to keep my bird exclusively in my bedroom. It is where I spend most of my time doing hw or other activities. Will a bird be ok spending most of its time in one room if I'm in the room and It has a lot of toys? What would be the best type of bird for me. From what I heard it isn't good to get a bird you deem as a starter bird to just later turn them in. So far I have my heart set on an amazon double yellow head or a Senegal. I'm also going to be moving out of my house to my own place within the next two years. And how worried to I need to be with Teflon if the bird is in my room with a closed door I know I need to worry about the kitchen downstairs and will be replacing my mothers pans that she has as Teflon. I'm just worried about my other family downstairs in their kitchen witchnis also on the other side of the house. Will that be an issue as well. Any advice is much appreciated thanks!!

Jayyj

Apr 28, 2013
UK
Parrots
Alice - Galah cockatoo