Bird Evolution Q&A +Discussion

spaceparrot

Jun 1, 2016
Media
Parrots
Two cockatiels: Sharlett (Cinnamon Pied) and Data (White-Faced Pied)
Hi! It's been a long time, lol.

Well, I've been researching bird evolution (what bits I can find) as it is a favorite hobby of mine. I want to know where these amazing creatures (and more specifically members of the family caucituidae) come from. Who are their ancestors? How did they change as they evolved?

Since we are all bird lovers here, I was hoping to have a discussion on this topic with all of you so we can share knowledge with each other. (I will be posting more in depth on my findings later.) If you have any questions on this topic, I would be more than happy to answer them! I am by no means an expert but I really like to share knowledge and discuss this topic with people whenever I am able to.

Any questions or information to share? :D

SailBoat

Supporting Member
Jul 10, 2015
Western, Michigan
Parrots
DYH Amazon
There has been several discussion as part of the Parrot Forum regarding this Topic. Commonly driven by the release of recent Study and/or finding reports. Select Search and take a look.

There is a wealth of information on the development of Birds out there. Example: Recent findings in China regarding much earlier feather development, etc...

So, very interesting Thread and I will be happy to contribute from time to time.

Scott

Supporting Member
Aug 21, 2010
San Diego, California USA, Earth, Milky Way Galaxy
Parrots
Goffins: Gabby, Abby, Squeaky, Peanut, Popcorn / Citron: Alice / Eclectus: Angel /Timneh Grey: ET / Blue Fronted Amazon: Gonzo /

RIP Gandalf and Big Bird, you are missed.
The Fossil Record has taught us a wealth of knowledge of how birds and dinosaurs have a shared evolution. You are not alone with a deep fascination of early life on our planet. For some reason humans are utterly mesmerized with dinosaurs and the bird-like pterodactyl.

Dinosrawr

Aug 15, 2013
Saskatoon, SK, Canada
Parrots