Bringing home Oliver today

Tammie

Aug 25, 2016
Ok. I have the cage all set up, toys, food, and gave been visiting him everyday as he was being hand raised and weaned. So after he comes home, sand settles in, how often should we have him out of cage for play and how often? I know these are very social little parrots, but I'm sure they like their quiet time too. And I am a teacher so go back to work September 6 from 8:30 AM to 3:45 so I am just trying to figure out his actual " hands on" attention needs and figure out a schedule for myself to meet them. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you! :rainbow1:

Terry57

Staff member
Super Moderator
Nov 6, 2013
Media
Albums
Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada
Parrots
Hawkhead(Darwin),YCA(Dexter),VE (Ekko),OWA(Slater),BHP(Talli),DYH(Calypso),RLA(Kimera),Alex(Xander)CBC(Phoe),IRN (Kodee,Luna,Stevie),WCP (Pisces),CAG(Justice)GCC (Jax), GSC2(Charley)
Awww, I'm so excited for you! I would get him used to what your schedule will be when school starts. I work from home, and mine get their time out in the mornings and evenings. After he is home, you can figure out what works best for you, and for him:) What time is he coming home? Please share pictures!!

OP
Tammie

Tammie

Aug 25, 2016
Thank you. I will be picking him up about 11:00 or so this morning, sewing up some loose ends so everything is perfect! He is hand raised, so he has been socialized and I don't want to loose his tame nature. Just want to do all this the right way. This is my most expensive venture as far as a pet, so I want to make no mistakes. How long should out of cage time be? When I hear they need much interaction I think" all day, everyday". Lol!! Of course pictures will be posted as soon as we are home and settled. Thank you.

Terry57

Staff member
Super Moderator
Nov 6, 2013
Media
Albums
Parrots