Compannion for a GCC? Newby needs advice, please.

WendyM

Jun 21, 2013
Sydney, Australia
Parrots
Bertie, scaley breasted lorikeet, 2007-2013, still miss you, chick. Cheeky, yellow sided green-cheeked conure, 2013-
I lost my lorikeet recently and am planning on getting two conures. I have no experience of conures. Could you knowledgable folk give me some advice on the following concerns.

I want to have two birds who get on together. I was planning on getting two male GCCs. However, Ive been told males can become very territorial when they are hormonal and can fight. Can anyone comment on this problem please?

What would you suggest as the best compannion for a GCC? I have the following options available at the moment. Very limited in Australia at present as it is not the breeding season.

I have one male GCC baby who will be available in a week. These are my current options, and I would appreciate any comments or advice you could give me.

Option 1. The male baby GCC and a male baby Pearly (waiting on DNA sexing for the Pearlies - there are five chicks, so should be one male ). There is also the option of female GGCs and/or Pearlies.

Option 2. An 18 month old pinapple (very tame) and a baby GCC or Pearly. I suspect this is not a good idea.

Option 3. Get the GCC baby now and wait till the breeding season comes and take my baby to help choose another baby.

Option 4. A GCC male baby and a male of another species. Unfortunately this is limited to budgies and cockatiels at the moment, so would have to wait a few months to get other species.

Option 5. Get a male and a female, or two hens.

Some other questions

Is there any difference between GCCs and Pearlies? From my You Tube research they appear to be very similar.

The available GCCs and Pearlies live 300 and 500ks away - in opposite directions! If I get Pearly it will have to be air freighted...... would this be OK?

Sorry about the long email. I want to make sure I get it right!

Many thanks for your help.