Considering a Ringneck in the future

angiemw

Mar 19, 2012
Pennsylvania
Parrots
Eva, a Green Cheek Conure Hatched March 4th, 2012.
I know this sounds really strange, but I keep having this dream that I am petting a green Ring-neck. It's a baby and it's feathers still haven't grown in all the way. I told hubby about it and he think's I've gone nuts. LOL I told him in the future maybe about a year, I just might have to get one. Of course he hate's the idea. But he claims to not be a bird lover. Yet he is always at Eva's cage messing with her. LOL

My question is, what is everybody's thoughts on ring-necks? Are they good birds to have? Are they loud like a cockatoo can be? Or do they have a quieter squawk like Eva?

I'm not that good with computers so every site I tried to check out didn't give that kind of information.

Also, if I do get one I want a baby. One that was hand fed. And from a local breeder. Not that I don't trust anybody, I just don't want to have to ship one to me.

Ash

Nov 20, 2011
Hamilton, New Zealand
Some people cannot stand there squawk. I don't find it loud but I think it's the pitch that bothers others. It's pretty high pitched and it can be ear piercing.
I looked after one for a few months :p
I Know they are no where near as loud as my Alexandrines(cousins/or larger version of the ringneck)

They are independent birds. So they can easily entertain themselves. Some are great talkers (have the cutest voice). They do still like to have attention though. They aren't cuddly like a cockatoo. They usually don't mind being touched/handled. Most Ringneck's go through a bluffing stage. Other IRN owner's may be able to tell you more about it.

Cant think of anything more of the top of my head. Although I have been comparing thr IRN with an Alexandrine. :p

solobaby

Jul 14, 2011
Parrots
Solo(indian ringneck)-Marley(green cheek conure)- Dobby (cockatiel)