Crusty beak?

MegAndEddie

Jan 24, 2020
Albany NY
Parrots
Eddie, born Nov 2019
Hi everyone!
This is my first time posting but Iā€™ve been lurking for a while. I adopted my baby Eddie the green cheek conure about 3 months ago. He is now 7 months old, and heā€™s just beginning his first molt- lots of pin feathers. Heā€™s always having me scratch his head! Iā€™ve noticed more recently that his beak and nose holes look a little crusty, and heā€™s been itchy. Iā€™m wondering if itā€™s because of the molt? Iā€™m worried it could be something more like mites? Iā€™m attaching some pics below. Heā€™s also begun doing a new chirp- kind of like a loud squeak in replacement of his old squawk? Any idea? Everything else is completely normal. I feed him Harrison pellets, fruits and veggies every day.. he plays a ton, sleeps all night, and is very energetic and also snuggly! I love him very much and just want your opinion before I go to the vet. Unfortunately Iā€™m working over 55 hours from home right now so itā€™s tough for me to make a vet appt, but Eddie is loving the time together!
Thanks everyone
Meg&Eddie
:) :gcc:

Attachments

• DA9EC1DA-4C49-4A80-B2AF-F2B1D65AD622.jpg
    DA9EC1DA-4C49-4A80-B2AF-F2B1D65AD622.jpg
    176.5 KB · Views: 87
  • 369A3423-79C5-49B1-B258-90FB87574A37.jpg
    369A3423-79C5-49B1-B258-90FB87574A37.jpg
    127.7 KB · Views: 83

SailBoat

Supporting Member
Jul 10, 2015
Western, Michigan
Parrots
DYH Amazon
Yup, your Parrot has a serious case of Parrot Bill!!! :D

A Parrot's bill will transition during the year as like Human finger nails they grow a bit at a time, but with Parrots they transition is shape and that can result in areas that are a bit 'crusty' looking. With time, the area will smooth back out. NOTE: It is not unusual for the beak to develop some flaking from time to time, so just a heads up.