Did anyone have a parrot in college?

futurebirdmama

Aug 20, 2016
Hi there,
I'm a college student, and I have been hoping to get a pet bird for a long time. I've been waiting until I can be sure that my living and financial situations are appropriate for owning a bird, as I know that having a bird is a very big commitment.
I'm wondering if anyone else has personal experience with owning a bird in college, whether positive or negative. What kind of bird was it? Do you still have it? Do you regret adopting it? What issues did you face? Not looking for judgement, just personal experiences.

As for me, at this point I am still waiting on getting a bird, but in the next few years I do plan on adding a small bird, probably a cockatiel, to my family. :white1:

Thanks in advance!:grey:

Kentuckienne

Supporting Vendor
Oct 9, 2016
Middle of nowhere (kentuckianna)
Parrots
Roommates include Gus, Blue and gold macaw rescue and Coco, secondhand amazon
I got a bird my freshman year, when I lived in the dorm. There were lots of dorm rules, and we routinely broke them all (hot plates, alcohol, coed guests...) so I figured no big deal. Except someone else on the floor was afraid of birds and ratted me out. I wound up with zero time to find a home for him or be evicted, and a friend's parents wanted a parakeet, so off he went. At the time, I didn't think twice about it. I never imagined that there would be stress on a bird to change homes, he was just a little white thing that flew around and rode on the earpiece of my glasses. I didn't have him long at all. But then I was raised by wolves, and it would take me many more years to develop a deeper level of compassion and understanding with humans, much less with animals. You sound as if you are way ahead of where I was back then.

khaiqha

Sep 19, 2012
Lewisville, TX
Parrots
Alexandrine Ringneck,
about to be getting a Jardine's