Diet discussion?

Amber

Jun 1, 2011
Pellets seem to be what most feed as a staple here, supplemented with seed and treats and fresh fruit and veg. While I think thats fine and a good diet for most birds of moderate activity, I have my own musings based on the advice of my vet for not using them as a staple for my boy (and keep in mind I am no professional on this, this is what just works for us, under professional guidance!), we were having some weight problems, and Alex was not digesting the bulk of the pellets... He wasn't 'geared' for the soy, flavourings, etc. in many of them that he would not encounter in the wild, and it was causing problems for us. He was also having an issue with the preservative ethoxyquin found in almost all pellet mixes (which, incidentally is also a carcinogen)

I don't think seed is bad, when factored into a diet appropriately. The way I had it explained to me (by my vet) was like this. A low activity bird confined to a cage eating a traditional seed mix is a terrible idea. It's the equivalent of feeding someone confined to a wheelchair Maccas 24/7. No vitamins or anything good, just a whole bunch of fat. Sure you can survive on it, but it's not good at all. But a high energy bird (ie, one surviving in the wild) needs that fat as energy.