Feathers not right ..

Pauly

Apr 13, 2013
HI there . I am relatively new to the world of Alexandrines .. the one I have is is around 18 months old and seems to have developed a problem that started with his tail feathers and seems to be progressing to his flights :-( .. has anyone any advice please ??

Attachments

• Buddy2.jpg
    Buddy2.jpg
    95.4 KB · Views: 147
  • buddy1.jpg
    buddy1.jpg
    92 KB · Views: 144
Last edited:

weco

Nov 24, 2010
USA
Parrots
Nanday, suns, parrotlet, Patagonian
If he is not chewing those feathers, you should probably have him looked at by an avian veterinarian as soon as possible.....

I hope I am totally wrong about this, but are his feathers starting to look like this?

Last edited:

weco

Nov 24, 2010
USA
Parrots
Looks like he is chewing them to me.
That's what I thought, but someone in another group I'm on has a very similar problem that seems to be something else, but the vet she's been to claims to have never seen the problem & has no idea what it is.....

chasroth

Mar 29, 2013
Greensburg PA
Parrots
GW Toby
I cant see in the cage but does he have any toys. Birds need toys or they will turn on their feathers.

WECO what does the other person think it is?

weco

Nov 24, 2010
USA
Parrots
I'd rather not say, because that one & this one have not yet been diagnosed, as I'm not a vet & sure would hate to be passing out bad information.....

brianlinkles

Aug 17, 2011
Oakwood, Ohio
Parrots
i am the mom of three parrots:
Dorothy- African grey (cag)
Bowie- blue and gold macaw
Nellie- hyacinth macaw
Reggie- hyacinth macaw
Marnie- white bellied caique
I cant see in the cage but does he have any toys. Birds need toys or they will turn on their feathers.

WECO what does the other person think it is?