Feeding my conure

Skye

Mar 7, 2014
Scottsdale, AZ
Parrots
Jenday Conure (Lola)
Hey guys! Sorry to be asking so many questions! Clearly I'm a newbie haha:) but I was wondering if when I feed my bird I should be taking the food bowl away after a while or if I should have food available all day? I'm getting worried about my conure because I'm trying to switch him over to a pellet based diet(he is used to a seed mix from the pet store) and he seems to be rejecting the pellets and only digging out the seeds from the mix. If I only let him have access to the pellet/seed mix for a short amount of time periodically throughout the day will he be better about eating? I made an appointment with the vet already but until then I was hoping to get some opinions! Thanks! :)

Nakiska

May 30, 2011
Washington
Parrots
4 Cockatiels 2 males Chicken Little & Charlie, 2 Females Chiquita and Sweet pea. Yellow Sided Green Cheek Conure -Franklin and our now tame, rescued feral Pigeon - Belle.
Hello and CONGRATULATIONS on your new conure!

To answer your question: I may go against the grain here...but I keep some sort of food in front of my birds at all times. I feed a varied diet of zupreem natural pellets, healthy selects seed/veggie diet that is in a silage style feeder and every single day I offer some sort of fruit/veggie/beans/rice/pasta etc (just what ever I have on hand) whether it be raw or cooked or a combination there of in their "Special treats" dish.

Both my conures love their chunks of grapes, apple, broccoli, corn on the cob, cauliflower, carrot etc...I give them to them big enough that they can pick up and hold to eat...as my conures, as most all conures I suppose - absolutely enjoy holding, playing with and eating larger chunks.

So in short, my guys are offered their pellet/seed 24/7 and of course fresh water and daily offered something fresh - raw or cooked.