Fire Alarm vs Grey

featheredfriends

Nov 5, 2009
OMG I need advise!! I am not a novice with Greys as I have had my female grey since she was 5 months and is now almost 10 years. She is a really great and very smart bird. We have an unbelievable bond. Last month she laid eggs!!! Unfertile of course but I believe she would be a super mama bird. So I got this great (stupid?) idea to find her a mate. I found a 6 year old male Grey online that needed a home. Yes, here comes the problem/delima. The home I purchased him from was small quarters, blasting Tv and usually lots of people. AND they had a fire alarm with a weak battery. You know that sound? Short loud chirp sounds about every
10 seconds? While I visited the house, the bird was very quiet, never out of the cage just sits there...like depressed or something. Probably was. But I thought as great as my Grey was, I could bring him out of it and give him a quieter calmer environment and he would be a happy sings talking bird. Well guess what. While he lived at his former home, he learned to imitate the dying fire alarms' loud chirping. He has it down so well he even has it timed just like the alarm!!! I asked the former owners how long that fire alarm had been making that noise...can you believe; 6 MONTHS!!!!
Can you imagine hearing that 24/7 for 6 months!!! OMG!!! So now we have adopted the problem and it is disrupting our once very peaceful household. It's hurts my cats ears so much that they cry and take off and my other bird hides in her 'bird shack'. He husband wants to put him in the stew pot already! I know about the attention/negative behavior and am trying VERY hard to just ignore the sound. I have taken to rattling a coke can when he does his 'alarm' sound which startles him and I'm afraid it will ruin what little trust he has in me. WHAT CAN I DO TO STOP THIS???