harlequin loves this, is it safe?

kbuchanan2

Sep 13, 2012
Parrots
Adopted a harlequin macaw september 2012
Hello..Kathleen and henry (my harlequin) here again with another question . I purchased colored popsicle sticks from Walmarts craft department in place in the bars of his cage seems to really love those however they safe? I'm new to this while I'm going to attempt to put a picture up of what this looks like any feedback would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance for your help. Regards Kathleen and henry..

That was a quick lesson I don't seem to be able to add the photo album on my mobile phone once I get home I'll try to add a photo back to this posting from my PC I look forward to all your responses thank you for your time

Roxy_9_2011

Feb 3, 2012
Media
Albums
Michigan
Parrots
Roxy-Yellow Sided Green Cheek Conure, Zeus-Turquoise conure, Carlos- YN Amazon & Jazz- GW macaw
Hey! I would take those popsicle sticks out at once. Just because you don't know if the paint they used to dye them is bird safe. Most paints are toxic to birds. Most likely those stick are not bird safe cause of the paint. But you can get a good deal on colored wood on mysafebirdstore.com (everyone here LOVES the store) Their toys and any products dyed are guaranteed to be safe (so they used bird safe paint). Hope this helps! (don't mean to worry you, just a helpful "heads up")

coral3

Aug 4, 2012
Australia
Parrots
'Ringo' - alexandrine, hatched 2012 ~ 'Prinny' - princess parrot, 1992-2012 RIP
Or you could buy plain, undyed ones & dye them yourself with food colouring? But I guess it might be easier/cheaper just to buy the bird safe ones in the first place...

Remy

Jul 13, 2011
California
Parrots
Darcy (Golden-Collared Macaw), Puck (Caique - RIP)