Hello and needing advice

JustMyForte

Feb 12, 2018
Hello, my name is Holly. I am new to Parrot Forums, but not new to owning birds. I have owned finches and cockatiels in the past, but am now looking to add a new feathered friend to my family in the near future.

I have for quite a few years wanted to add a conure to my family, and always told myself when I no longer had my tiels, I would look into acquiring a conure. Fast forward to the first part of the year, I found a baby jenday conure that I was very interested in and fell in love with. I went as far as to putting down a deposit on the baby while it is in the process of being weaned. I really do love this bird, but am feeling like maybe I haven't explored all my compatible bird options and am maybe wanting to reconsider the bird I bring home. Maybe it's a little bit of buyers remorse or bad timing, but I really want to make the right decision. I am a little nervous as what to expect with a jenday once I bring it home. I am able to apply my deposit toward the purchase of another bird for up to a year. We are getting close to bringing the baby home, so I need to make a decision before this happens. Not that I am wanting to bring another bird home right away instead, as I am willing to wait for the right bird to become available if my heart has a change.

Let me tell you a little about me. I have a young 3 y/o child in my home, as well as a few reptiles, dogs, and fish. My child loves animals, and absolutely loves birds. She was so upset when our cockatiel died. I do have a job that I am out of the house for 8 hours a day, M-Th. I work from home on Fridays and am home all weekend long. When I am not home, there is usually someone in my home as we have family come over to watch our child during the day. We don't go on many vacations, if we do it's a short one or two day thing.