How to help adopted parrot adjust

Drino

Jul 8, 2017
My hubby and I met Ziggy today, a very sweet 24 year old B&G girl. Within 10 minutes she was begging me to pick her up from her perch, and within 30 mins she was regurgitating for me! I didn't expect that. When I was talking to the adoption people, and ignoring her begging to be picked up from the perch, she yelled 'Mama! MAMA!' Heart melted. She's only had one owner, who had her work hours change and couldn't give her the time and love she needed. She plucked a few feathers on her shoulders, but they're growing in nicely. I think this girl chose me. She climbed over two people to get to me on the couch, totally focused on me the whole time. The largest parrot I've had was a TAG that I raised from a baby, hand feeding, but I'm new to macs. She will be doing a home visit this week. If all goes well, how can I help her adjust to our home? Other than spending lots of time with her, what are some dos and don'ts for her first few days? I apologize if this has been answered over and over again, I did a search and didn't see a thread for tips on helping a rescue parrot to adjust.
B5

OP
D

Drino

Jul 8, 2017
Couldn't get the imgur image to insert, so attached her pic.

Attachments

• IMG_0645.jpg
    IMG_0645.jpg
    83.3 KB · Views: 148

LordTriggs

May 11, 2017
Surrey, UK
Parrots
Rio (Yellow sided conure) sadly no longer with us
she's such a cutie pie! I love hearing these stories where people are so evidently chosen, I'd love to have my own story like that some day