How to pet Jack

1fast10

Nov 26, 2011
Savannah GA
Parrots
Jack-TAG. Hans-Hahn's Macaw
As you guys know I am a newb and would love to pet Jack my TAG. He's not really receptive to the idea at all I think. As soon as I try to pet him he starts to squawk excitingly but I don't know if its fear squawks or excitement. But he does really try to bite as much as he immediately starts to try to get away and/or will nip. So I don't force myself on him what so ever. I know its gonna take more time and bonding, but I'm talking about how to actually get the process going.

I know how finicky AG's can be and just don't want to gift our relationship.

ScottRoberts

Sep 25, 2011
Valdosta Georgia
Parrots
African Grey named Buddy and Marty
re-homed from rescues both are about 5 years old.
My one gray took about a week. The other is about 3 months in and he still doesn't want me to pick him up but he does let me rub the back of his head. Now he even comes to me and puts his head down sometimes.. I guess it's all about going at their pace. A good bond will form if you do that.

Last edited:
OP

1fast10

Nov 26, 2011
Savannah GA
Parrots
So is it natural for them to lower their head when they want to be scratched?

suncon97

Jul 31, 2011
Parrots
Pearl-African Grey-Hatched Apr. 28,2011
Most of the time if they want to, then yes. Sometimes if my grey doesn't then I try scratching her head. It took Pearl about 2 weeks to start doing this. I just took it slow at first and petted for a few seconds but now I sit there and pet her for 25-30 minutes at a time.

ScottRoberts

Sep 25, 2011
Valdosta Georgia
Parrots
yes but watch the pupils if the get small like a pin point they are trying to trick you and when you go in to pet they will whip their head up and nip at you... always watch the eyes

OP

1fast10

Nov 26, 2011
Savannah GA
Parrots