I ask for your assisstance.

HamadAhli

Mar 2, 2014
UAE, Dubai
Greetings O learned men and women in the ways of the cockatoo;

I desire to take within my care a galah cockatoo in the near future. As opposed to my mother's beliefs I am a responsible adult as I have done my research and know what is expected of me to treat the galah. However I do have a few specific questions regarding the matter and would really appreciate some advice.

So the first question is related to how much the Galah cockatoo needs to be attended with much care and company. I am a college student and attend college from morning to pre-evening(For example from 8:00 am to 4:00 pm).

1- Does my schedule allow me enough time to raise a galah cockatoo?

The second is regarding flight. I have read from many sources that one of the main causes of death for the galah cockatoo is due to fat tumors that is caused by their lack of flight in case they are clipped. Therefore I am scared to clip the bird's wings. I have no idea how to train the bird to fly, I am willing to learn how to train it. but I am scared that if i train it or even take it outdoors to have some fun it would fly away without coming back.

so what is the advice that you could give me regarding that? Please put in mind that I really want a cockatoo and would do anything for it. but in your opinion can I raise it? and if yes what should I do regarding it does not fly away outdoors.

Thanks guys in advance.:grey:

MomtoPercy

Nov 15, 2013
Media
South Africa
Parrots
Percy, a 5yo BFA & Jack, a 8yo Budgie
Very welcome! I love the way you write :)

You are indeed very responsible to FIRST learn about your chosen type of bird before you go out and get one!

I am not familiar with galah's and I'm sure our galah owners will comment shortly, but in the meantime, I share my thoughts -