Thebrave

May 8, 2018
Hi everyone -

I have a male Eclectus that I just agreed to accept for rehome. He's in another state, coming home in a month and I feel like I could use all the advice possible :)

He attempted to be used for breeding but didn't produce viable clutches, so the owner decided to let them go. I'm just a nervous Nancy trying to start somewhere helpful for him instead of traumatizing him. As for the vet, I plan to take him to the vet for a full checkup after I can clean up his diet and build some relationship with him since I don't want him to think he can't trust me at all. He's unbanded. I hope to, in the future, microchip him instead to use as an official ID.

The Observed Behavior: He's skittish some, and showed some aggressive behavior (eye pinning, nipping, some wing flaps) coming out of the cage and being on a stand. I figure they were because I'm new to him, and they were just trying to breed them so he's probably hormonal to boot. I cringed a little inside when I saw him running his hands down his back and around the parrot as I've read before that touching elsewhere other than heads can contribute to hormonal aggression. But he's used to him so to me it was a sign of their good standing with each other. Interestingly, he also started to crouch down low in his perch, wings fluttering, tail feathers fanned slightly. He acted like he wanted to fly to the breeder but didn't. Seemed like he didn't know how to fly or was scared to/not used to it.