Moving, when should I clip?

Akraya

May 7, 2012
Brisbane, QLD
Parrots
Misha - Yellowsided GCC
Guapo - Cinnamon GCC
Nimbus - Alexandrine
Hi, so I'm moving in 3 weeks, my Dads being awesome and driving my car and birds down since I'm not good at long distance travel. I'll be clipping my birds wings before I move to avoid any accidents during travel and when they arrive at the new place. My only question is should I do it sooner rather than later or yeah, is a week before enough for them to adjust before a big move (8 hr drive at least) or should I do it now.
Anyone who's been in a similar situation, your thoughts would be greatly appreciated!

DannyA93

Jan 22, 2012
Las Cruces, NM
Parrots
Pineapple Turquoise Greencheek Conure-Ivy❤️, Male Cockatiel-Lusa (aka Bub =D)
i would say to do it as soon as possible! that way the stress of being clipped and the stress of travel wont be all at once and it'll probably be a bit easier on them:)

OP
Akraya

Akraya

May 7, 2012
Brisbane, QLD
Parrots
Misha - Yellowsided GCC
Guapo - Cinnamon GCC
Nimbus - Alexandrine
Just had them clipped, the change in them is instant, sooo docile.
Now they're chewing up everything so that's the "its all good" sign! They haven't tried flying yet.

MikeyTN

Feb 1, 2011
Antioch, TN
Parrots
"Willie"&"Lola"B&G Macaw,
"Dixie"LSC2, and "Nico" Scarlet Macaw.
Good luck with the move! Just talk to them while in the cage or carrier, they'll be fine!

MonicaMc

Sep 12, 2012
Media
Parrots
Mitred Conure - Charlie 1994;
Cockatiel - Casey 2001;
Wild Caught ARN - Sylphie 2013
I've never clipped for a move, but then again, the times I have moved, I didn't move far...