New and overwhelmed

sultrypickle

Dec 5, 2017
Hello all! I joined today because everyone here seems to have a vast amount of knowledge that I'm sure will be crucial for me in the near future. I recently adopted a sulphur-crested cockatoo from a lady who due to health reasons is no longer able to care for her animals. I Am the second person to take her in and I'm looking forward to working with her. That said, she comes with many more issues then previously anticipated and I am a novice at raising large birds so I am feeling very overwhelmedwith everything I have to work on. I look forward to reading through the forums and learning from all of you.

Attachments

• 20171127_131953.jpg
    20171127_131953.jpg
    84.6 KB · Views: 87

Kentuckienne

Supporting Vendor
Oct 9, 2016
Middle of nowhere (kentuckianna)
Parrots
Roommates include Gus, Blue and gold macaw rescue and Coco, secondhand amazon
You do have a challenge in this bird, but with ParrotForums all things are possible. Can you find any details about the previous life? Kept in the cage, not handled, lived with dogs, kids, or cats...scared of sticks or hands, was there another bird or cage mate, diet...anything you learn might be an important clue.

The cockatoo forum is a great place to start. The I Love Amazons” thread in the Amazon forum is widely applicable to most parrots.

In addition to the detective work, a visit to an avian vet is crucial. Full blood work including heavy metal poisoning. You want to get a good diet plan in place. Our macaw loves Harrison’s pepper formula above all else, and we keep trying to sneak fresh foods in. There was a recent post by SillieN who has good luck treating pluckers. She gets little home made sweaters on them, and sometimes a wide ribbon collar, to make it hard for them to pluck, nd she also feeds a supplement because they need to produce keratin protein for the feathers.