New Bird, Hand Shy

joeparrilla5790

Sep 20, 2012
Hey guys,

I just picked up my green cheek yesterday. He was hand fed and just weaned over a week ago. He is eating and drinking great, but he is a lot more scared of hands than I expected. This morning he would freak at the sight of my hands, but a few minutes ago he began taking sunflower seeds through the bars. I opened the door and he does come to the ledge to grab the seed, but he quickly runs away after he grabs it. If I try to lure him onto my finger with the seed, he just sort of pinches my finger and walks away. Its obvious that he is just wanting the seed and has no interest in me. Should I call it quits for tonight and try again another night? I was excited to see him making progress, but I dont want him to just take a treat and run. What should I do to get him to willingly come out and be with me?

tab_xo

Aug 9, 2012
Queensland, Australia
Parrots
Fargo- Blue and Gold Macaw
hello, im no expert like some of the other people on here, but i recently got a new parrot as well... he was also hand raised but was still very scared of me... he would take the treat through the bars like your guy is, and would also move away to eat it... I did this for the first few days, and he was taking treats with my hand inside the cage... i think patience is the key, and he just has to get used to you, and know that you aren't a threat.
so starting out the same as what your guy is, after a week he knew that i wasnt going to hurt him, and would let me pat him... 2 weeks later on he loves scratches and flies to me on command.. :)

so just keep feeding him treats and talking to him to let him know you are a friend..
hope this helps!

OP
J

joeparrilla5790

Sep 20, 2012