New bird owner!

Kassidy

Nov 22, 2011
Media
Northern Virginia
Parrots
Female Yellow-Naped Amazon
I just got my YNA last Friday. I had intentions on getting a Senegal, but fell in love with this one instead. This is my first bird. I've named her Kassidy. She is a bit over 6 months old. I'm still learning her boundries, she can be a bit nippy but I'm working on it :) I haven't received any REAL painful bites, yet. She was already on a healthy pellet diet and fresh fruit and veggies, still trying to learn her favorites.

She's also already talking, hello, hi, whatcha doin, whats up, and come here. Thats all I've been able to distinguish so far anyways. I haven't been able to get her to say much when I ask her to though. I've already taught her "kisses" , she sticks her head out and makes a kissy noise until I kiss her beak. If she is left alone on the top of her cage she starts talking bird jibberish and doesn't stop :) Its hilarious! She also cat calls, little screams, chattering, tongue rolls, and I think she is trying to say words, I just can't understand them.

I'm going to be clicker training her, altho I've been pretty successful with just a stick :) At first she just attacked it, now she just taps it and expects her reward.

She's always fighting for my shoulder, but I'm trying to get her to stay on my hand/forearm otherwise she thinks my ears are her toys. I wasn't thinking about it when I first got her and she grabbed and broke one of my hoop earings.

One thing that has me worried is cooking... I know the toxic issues with Teflon. My pots and pans are actually calphalon and they state they do not use any Teflon... I'm petrified to cook, so I've been eating out for a week since I got my little girl.
Does anyone know anything about "calphalon"?

I'm sure I'll have plenty of other questions, being my first bird and all, but wanted to give you alitle run down :)

Remy

Jul 13, 2011
California
Parrots
Darcy (Golden-Collared Macaw), Puck (Caique - RIP)