New here, considering getting first parrot!

Steamy

Feb 14, 2013
Hello, my name is Steamy and I have quite a lengthy story! However, to put it short, I have recently had to flee my home due to physical and mental abuse and escape across the country to live with an old friend of mine.

I am a high school student, and am admittedly quite young and inexperienced in the bird front. In the past I've owned many other animals of varying shades of difficulty (worth mentioning is a troubled bun that ended up in my care, Ares, from a past abusive home: he was a difficult one to figure out, but I did manage to bring him out of his shell-- he was litter trained and had full run of the house. I spoiled him rotten /w an organic diet and top quality hay.) and sorts. Our house always seemed to be the "dumping ground" for pets people in our family bought on a whim and decided that, once the pet got to be work, they didn't want.

There is a good chance that I may be employed on a site I frequent as an artist. Since my move, missing an animal in my life has been really lonely. It always turned out that the most difficult/quirky pets I owned are the ones I remember most fondly, and I miss that sort of challenge in an animal.

The past few weeks I have gotten very engrossed in parrots of all sorts. I never considered owning a bird because I had never had much experience nor knowledge on them, but reading up they seem like delightful creatures with a whole slew of needs and a lot of personality and love to give. I have a lot of patience, a nice amount of money to anticipate, and a lot of time to share with an animal who needs it and I've given thought to bringing a bird into my life.