New member seeking knowledge...

rebel619

Nov 29, 2011
San Diego CA
Parrots
Blue Crown Canure
Hello all, I am new to the form, I am a 27 m living in San Diego CA. Reason for joining is recent purchase of a 3 month old blue crown conure, he will be 4 months Dec 8th, I nicknamed "duke"...the reason I bought him/her? Was to give to my mom for Christmas, she had a parrot long ago (not sure what kind) that lived to be 25! And she was heart broken so i decided when I got the chance I would purchase her another one, well I was at the local swap meet this weekend and came across a sweet deal on him/her? He had two and both were hand raised, he had quite a selection, and all looked very clean and bright nice colors, I wasn't sure what to to get, so I told him my price range and something that talked (as my mothers old parrot talked) he recommended a few ling story short, I walked out with "duke". He/her? Has been home for three days and has gotten comfortable the first day he was really sketchy and being nippy, I've held him for three days scratched him, and he likes it I've only been bit once but he was really pissed and I shouldn't of approached him...he's only sketchy when i try and pick him up, once he's up he's fine, so that's something were working on...my mom is scared of him/her? Cause of the bite Mark he left me so I am stuck training him...witch sucks cause now I'm getting attached to him/her? I am planning on a trip to the vet next week just to make sure everything is A OK ...:)

Last edited:
OP
rebel619

rebel619

Nov 29, 2011
San Diego CA
Parrots
Blue Crown Canure
IMAG0021.jpg

Here is "duke"...He loves bananas and plums!

henpecked

Dec 12, 2010
Media
NC/FLA
Parrots
Jake YNA 1970,Kia Panama amazon1975, both i removed from nest and left siblings, Forever Home to,Stacie (YN hen),Mickie (RLA male),Blinkie (YNA hen),Kong (Panama hen),Rescue Zons;Nitro,Echo,Rocky,Rub